You are here:


  • The fixed digital road safety camera system on EastLink was activated in September 2008.
  • There are 18 cameras at six active locations on EastLink.
  • All cameras on EastLink use a parabolic radar system as the primary Speed Measurement Device (SMD).  A secondary in-road sensor mechanism, such as inductive loops, is also used to measure speed.
  • When a camera detects an incident, readings received from two SMDs are compared – this is called Secondary speed verification. Using two different mechanisms to record speed measurements ensures accuracy. If the readings are consistent, the incident is sent for verification.
  • Encrypted camera data is sent to two trained verification staff. They are required to independently review the data and must agree an incident has occurred. If both staff do not agree a third is asked to adjudicate.
  • All agreed incidents are then sent to the Traffic Camera Office at Victoria Police for final revision and authorisation, only then is a fine issued.
  • All cameras on the EastLink have quarterly and annual hardware and software maintenance carried out by a contracted traffic camera service provider. In addition to this, an independent company performs routine testing on EastLink cameras.
  • An independent testing officer also certifies EastLink cameras on an annual basis in accordance with the Road Safety (General) Regulations 2009. During certification, cameras are removed and replaced with newly certified devices. Upon successful completion of testing compliance certificates are issued for each camera.

Connect with us

Our partners