20 June 2022

The government has appointed Neville Taylor APM as the new Road Safety Camera Commissioner. The appointment is for the next three years, until 2025.

Mr Taylor has been Acting Road Safety Camera Commissioner since December 2021.

Before that, Mr Taylor worked at Victoria Police for more than 40 years. He has extensive road safety knowledge, having led road policing operations in Victoria. He also held various management and executive roles. This includes a time as Acting Assistant Commissioner for Road Policing Command.

Mr Taylor is passionate about road safety and protecting the Victorian community. He has a high level of expertise in criminal justice. He also has experience in how to put in place a safe systems model approach within road safety.

He is working towards the targets set out in the Victorian Road Safety Strategy 2021–2030. These include halving road deaths and reducing serious injuries by 2030.

Mr Taylor was awarded an Australian Police Medal in 2019. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He is a Visiting Fellow with the Australian Institute of Police Management. He is also a sessional member of the Police Registration and Services Board.

Mr Taylor takes on the permanent role after the departure of Stephen Leane APM. Mr Leane left a strong legacy from his time as Road Safety Camera Commissioner. This includes a key role in strengthening governance and accountability across the sector.